A’Tempting’ Tuesday: Life Happens (Even While Wearing Your Tiara)!

You know, I wish I was one of those superwomen who always have everything done on time and to a T. I want my house to be clean. I want dinner to always be yummy and on the table before my smiling family gets home.

I also want to get all this done with perfect makeup, perfect hair, beautiful well-fitting clothes and maybe even some “June Clearverish” pearls (I’m not aging myself that much. I watched that show in reruns.) — and yes, all while wearing a TIARA! I deserve that much, right?

Well, unfortunately even when you wear your TIARA, life happens! Jobs get in the way, unexpected projects pop up and you occasionally get sick. All of this happened to me last week.

I had so planned to dig into a lovely cookbook I received as a gift, and share a recipe from it with you this week. My family would have loved that too … but take-out and sandwiches were pretty much on tap all last week. We can chalk this one up to the chaos I call life.

So, instead I thought I’d share an appetizer recipe with you. This might come in handy with the Super Bowl just around the corner.

I took this to a New Year’s Eve party and it was a hit! It’s made with bacon. That should sum it up.

This recipe came courtesy of one of my favorite Facebook pages — $5-10 Dollar Meals- Cheap Eats.

DSC_4966

Sweet Chicken Bacon Wraps

1 ½ lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 (1 lb) package sliced bacon
¾ cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons chili powder

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cut chicken breasts into 1-inch cubes.

Cut each bacon slice into thirds. Wrap each chicken cube with bacon and secure with wooden pick inserted on the diagonal, starting where bacon seam overlaps.

Stir together brown sugar and chili powder. Dredge wrapped chicken in mixture.

DSC_4968

Coat a rack and broiler pan with non-stick cooking spray. Place chicken on rack in broiler pan.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 to 35 minutes, or until bacon is crisp.

Cook’s Talk:

  • These were quite yummy, but I think next time I will play with the seasoning a little bit. I might add red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit or maybe marinate the chicken in Tabasco or another hot sauce prior to wrapping in the bacon.
  • I wound up baking closer to 45 minutes as I used thicker-cut bacon.
  • Next time, I will also make MORE. They were gone in about 5 minutes.

I hope you enjoy.

Until next time …. I’m going to wear my tiara and explore my new cookbook.

Leave a Reply

