A’Tempting’ Tuesday: Yummy with a Capital Y!

This dish has SHRIMP.

It has BUTTER …..

It has HEAVY CREAM (ahhhhhhh…. The angels are singing).

Need I say more?

Oh wait, it was also easy and was a nice, cheaper alternative to going out to eat.

I’ve been somewhat in a mealtime rut. I’m bored with what I have been preparing so heading to the kitchen after working all day has been no fun!! I’m constantly sharing recipes that look good on my Facebook Page (please, please, please go like me) and pinning yummy finds on Pinterest, but never doing anything with them.

So, as a New Year’s “Promise” to myself, I have decided to stop only admiring my plethora of recipes and actually try them out.

(Please note: I do not use the word “resolution.” I would automatically fail at that. I do have a list of promises and projects I’d like to do and will share those at some point.)

This week’s A‘Tempt’ was Crispy Cajun Shrimp Fettuccine and it was yummy with a capital Y. Both my husband and son loved it, which is an accomplishment in itself AND with the exception of shrimp, I had all the ingredients in my pantry.

Crispy Cajun Shrimp Fettuccine

4 oz. fettuccine
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 tbsp. butter
16 large shrimp
1 tbsp. Cajun spice (recipe below, or use a your favorite packaged blend)
2 tbsp. flour
1 cup chicken broth
1 cup heavy cream
½ cup Parmesan cheese, grated

Cook fettuccine according to package directions.

DSC_5053

Clean the shrimp and season with 1 tbsp. of Cajun spice (recipe below).

Drizzle the flour over the shrimp and toss in a bowl to make sure each shrimp is covered in flour.

DSC_5057

In a deep skillet, add butter and olive oil and heat over high heat. Add shrimp and cook on each side about 2 minutes until crisp.

Remove shrimp from skillet and set aside.

In the same skillet, add chicken broth and heavy cream.

DSC_5065

Season with additional Cajun spice if preferred. Cook until sauce thickens a bit from the heavy cream, then add Parmesan cheese and whisk. Add fettuccine and shrimp to the sauce and toss.  Serve warm.

DSC_5066

Cajun Spice

DSC_5052

2 ½ tbsp. salt
1 tbsp. dried oregano
1 tbsp. paprika
1 tbsp. red chili powder
1 tbsp. ground black pepper

Mix all ingredients together in a small container with a lid.

Oh so easy!!

Cook’s Talk

  • This recipe is very forgiving; you can be flexible with the amounts. I used smaller shrimp, so wound up with probably more like 30-35 shrimp. I also used more than 4 ounces of pasta as my husband is a big eater. In turn, I increased the amount of broth and cream to accommodate the added pasta.
  • I was lazy and splurged on already peeled and cleaned shrimp!
  • I had all the ingredients for the Cajun Spice in my pantry so I didn’t use an already prepared one. We like spicy, so I added extra when I tossed in the shrimp and pasta. In fact, my hubby and son were sprinkling more on their plates.
  • If you wanted to use a prepared spice blend, I think Tony’s (which is a staple in my pantry) would work well. Just be careful, it’s salty. In fact, I think they make a salt-free version.
  • Use fresh grated Parmesan, not the powdered stuff out of the can.
  • It sounds silly with all the butter and cream here, but out of habit I used whole wheat pasta.
  • The only drawback was getting the dang melted Parmesan off my whisk! (I like to cook, not do dishes!)

This dish will be making a return to our table. My daughter has been trying her hand at more cooking and I think the ease of this would be a great one for her to try in her college apartment and impress her roommates.

Until next time, y’all enjoy….

Next Week: I’m going old school and actually using a cookbook.

Leave a Reply

