A’Tempting’ Tuesday: Ooey, Gooey and Good!

Fotor1231161040

This recipe ranks at the top of my list of yummy desserts.  The ingredients just go together.  Remember the old peanut butter cup commercials? (Here’s ONE for a refresher)   … You know “you got peanut butter in my chocolate.  You got chocolate in my peanut butter!”  What results is a perfect match.  This pie is kind of like that.

First  you have pecan pie  — amazing on its own.  The, you add chocolate.  You can’t get any better than that.  In my opinion you can cover most anything with chocolate and it tastes great.  Pair it with something that  is already good and you can’t go wrong.

I’ve had several different types of chocolate pecan pie, the main two being a pecan pie with a layer of chocolate on top, or a pie with the chocolate mixed in.  I prefer the latter.  It’s just ooey, gooey and good!

This recipe is a pecan pie recipe I’ve used for years. I don’t even remember where I got it.  It is  most likely off the back of a bag or box of something.  I just adjusted it to include the chocolate.

Chocolate Pecan Pie

2/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup butter, melted

1 cup corn syrup

1/2 tsp salt

3 eggs

1 cup pecan halves

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

1.  Preheat oven to 375.

2.  In large bowl, beat eggs.  Add sugar, butter, corn syrup and salt and mix well.  Gently stir in pecans and chocolate chips.

3.  Poor mixture into a pastry-lined deep dish pie plate.

4.  Cover edge of pie crust with a strip of foil to prevent excess browning;  remove foil during last 10-15 minutes of baking.

5.  Bake pie until set, about 40-50 minutes.  Allow to cool before serving.

That’s it.   The hardest part is waiting on it to bake.  It is really good served with vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream.

Cook’s Talk

  • I could also provide you with a recipe for the crust.  Occasionally — and I do emphasize the “occasionally” — I do make the pie crust from scratch.  However, I’m not going to lie.  I’m busy.  More times than not, I use a prepared crust.  I do recommend using the type you roll out and put in your own pie plate.  (At least I generally use a pretty pie plate.)  I prefer Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crust.  I can make a pie crust .  But why do it when you can buy one already prepared that is good too?  I will say for the pie plate I used for the pie pictured, a larger crust would have been better.  I didn’t get the edge I would have liked.
  • I like to brush the edges of the crust with melted butter before baking.  It’s not necessary, but gives the crust a much better color.
  • Light or dark corn syrup either one is fine.  If you look at any the “old school” recipes, many call for dark.  I’ve always been told mainly for the color.  With the chocolate added to the pie, you don’t have to worry about that.  I generally just use which ever is in my pantry.
  • You can use margarine if you’d like, but butter is better.  Come on.  It’s pie.  If you are going to eat a piece of pie any way, might as well go all the way.

Until next time…

One thought on “A’Tempting’ Tuesday: Ooey, Gooey and Good!

  1. Mmm I love pecans!! This pie looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

