A’Tempting’ Tuesday: Crock Pot Candy (my secret revealed)

DSC_4740As usual, I am in a mad dash to get in all the cooking, crafting and gifting I want to do for the holidays finished.  So at roughly a week before Christmas day, I’m always doing something easy.  Crock Pot Candy is definitely a go-to for easy hostess gifts or little extra gifts just to have in case you need it.  I plan to take this to all the men in my office (which is everyone, as I’m the only female).

I got this recipe from a friend several years ago. I have since used it several times and have seen several different versions.  It is easy, makes a lot and compared to the amount of candy it yields, is relatively inexpensive.

This candy is a perfect to make this time of the year.  It makes me think of some kitchen-gadget infomercial that used to come on.  I don’t remember exactly what gadget it was, but the guru who was peddling it would always say “just set it and forget it.”  You can do that with this recipe.  I start it and can usually complete another dish or project before I have to begin spooning out the candy.

So here goes.  You’ll thank me for this:

Crock Pot Candy

DSC_4726Ingredients:

  • 1 (16-ounce) jar dry roasted salted peanuts
  • 1 (16-ounce) jar dry roasted unsalted peanuts
  • 12 ounces semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 32 ounces almond bark
  • 1 (4-ounce) German chocolate bar (found in baking section)

Directions:DSC_4737

  1. Put peanuts in the bottom of your slow cooker.  Add all other ingredients on top of the peanuts.  (I don’t even chop the almond bark or the German chocolate.)
  2. Cook on low for 1 1/2 to 2 hours, stirring occasionally.
  3. When all chocolate is melted and incorporated with the peanuts, drop by rounded spoonfuls (mine wind up being about 1/2- to 3/4 -tablespoon) onto wax paper and allow to cool completely.  The candy will harden as it cools.

Cook’s talk: 

  • Like I said, I’ve seen several versions of this recipe, many of which use white almond bark.  I prefer the dark.
  • As the chocolates start to melt, begin keeping an eye on the mixture and stir occasionally to mix the peanuts into the chocolate.  If they remain on the bottom too long, they can scorch.  I’ve seen some recipes that say to cook the mixture for 4 or more hours.  I think that is way too much.  I’ve never gone more than 2.
  • You can be creative and add other nuts or ingredients as well.  I have used lightly crushed pretzels, adding them in just before spooning onto wax paper.   Be creative.  Just be careful of when you add your ingredients.  For example, when I use pretzels, I add the at the end so they retain their crunch.  Harder ingredients such as nuts can withstand long periods in the slow cooker as opposed to softer ingredients you don’t want to become soggy, or other candies (such as peppermint) that you wouldn’t want to melt completely
  • I always put the wax paper directly onto my counter when spooning the candy.  Once, I used sheet pans so that I could easily move the candy around.  The metal retained the heat a little longer and it took much longer for my candy to harden.

Now you know my secret!  This candy is so yummy, I almost hated to share the recipe.  Until now, everyone I have given it to thought I had worked really hard.  It’s the thought that counts, not the amount of time you spend in the kitchen, right?

I hope you enjoy.  Next week:  Chocolate Pecan Pie

Until next time…..

Leave a Reply

