Not much crafting going on … but a lot of making memories

Christmas with Taylor

It’s finally Friday, y’all!  I missed last Friday, but for good reason.

We had such a wonderful time over the Thanksgiving holiday visiting my husband’s family.  They just happen to live in the same city my daughter goes to college in, making it that much more enjoyable.

This is the first time we’ve gone away from home for Thanksgiving in several years,  so I didn’t plan well.  I came home already behind on holiday decorating, which I normally do the weekend after Thanksgiving.  One of the items on my Cooking, Crafting and Chaos “bucket list” is to have a holiday planner or binder for next year.  I’ve already made note to include checklist items such as preparing ahead of time for Christmas decorating should we travel for Thanksgiving again.    We also came home to an empty kitchen, so I think I should plan ahead for some meals on our  return as well.

It’s all good though, because it was well worth it.   I don’t have much in the way of new craft projects to share here, but  I was able to help my daughter decorate her first apartment for Christmas and do a little “crafting” for her bedroom.  She and I had so much fun with my mother-in-law working on these projects.  Isn’t that what it’s all about anyway?  Crafting memories?

All is not lost!  I actually have a small craft to share with you after all.  I just got word from my daughter (after she reminded me she will be 20 in exactly one month!  Ugh!!  Where has the time gone?) that she received her finals week goody box, so I can share a card I included.  I thought it turned out pretty cute if I do say so myself, and was a fun way to tell her to just “hang in there.”

photo (6)b

You’ll probably see me share a lot of handmade cards. I love sending cards and I love making them.  I can usually make them from my stash of paper scraps, and they give immediate gratification when I need to get in a little quick crafting.

My “girl cave” is currently full of projects I’m working on.  I hope to finish them all soon and have photos to share.   My projects include a mini-album of our Thanksgiving weekend, a new holiday banner for our mantle and a “December Daily” album that contains a scrapbook page for every day in December.  You are my witnesses.  It’s written here, so I am committed!!

Projects are moving along slower than I’d like, but I am doing them.

Until next time…

Tool Talk:   I stayed true to my promise to myself on all the items I made to include in my daughter’s box of goodies.  I bought no new supplies.  I made the card using my Silhouette Cameo and a cut file purchased for a previous project.  I just used a basic kraft card base and envelope I already had in my stash, and paper from an older stack by K&Company.  The smaller accents were made from scraps.

Leave a Reply

