Hi Ho, Hi Ho It’s Off to Disney we go….

My family and I, along with our best friends and their children, leave in less than a week to go to Disney World.  I am sooooo excited.  I don’t know who is anticipating the trip more, the children or the parents.

I’ve never been, so it will be fun for me.  But, I just can’t wait to watch my children.  And then, there will be the scrapbook pages when we get home.  My husband jokes that we plan our lives and take all our photos with scrapbook pages in mind.  There may be some truth to that.  I’ll have at least a good week of scrapbooking our vacation memories when we get home.  I’ve been collecting paper and embellishments for months.

As excited as I am about the trip, getting ready to vacation is just a nightmare for me.  Packing and getting ready to leave for any amount of time sends me into panic mode.

I’ve written before on this site about my yearning for my lifestyle to be “Martha Stewart, HGTV and Southern Living all wrapped up in a Norman Rockwell painting,” especially around the holidays. Not going to happen! I do make quite the valiant effort each year.  Unfortunately, four Christmas trees and 36 boxes of decorations later I’m still trying to put my home back together after last Christmas — and it’s July!  (That might be a slight exaggeration, but it did take me a while).   Anyway, that’s another post.  Back to my original topic.

The panic if feel during the holidays is nothing like what I feel now.  It takes on a whole new level when I’m going to travel. About a week prior to any vacation, I go into an adrenaline-driven whirlwind of trying to tie up every loose end in my life.  I can thank (ha ha, that’s Southern for “think”) of a million minuscule things that I must take care of NOW.

The funniest part of it all is that I spend so much time cleaning house, organizing drawers (because, of course, that is of the utmost importance), digging dust bunnies from under the bed, writing my memoirs, filing the box of bills and papers that have accumulated over the last year and a plethora of other just as mundane tasks, that I have all my packing to do at the very last minute.  I will be in a mad dash as I’m rushing out the door stuffing the last “just- in-case-I-need-it item” into the zipper pocket on my luggage, trying to get to the airport on time.  It’s a good thing my husband loves me.

I’m normally a fairly organized person.  The mere mention of the word “vacation” tosses my organizational skills out the window.

Oh well. The good new is …. Hi Ho, Hi Ho it’s off to Disney we go! 

I know as soon as we are on that plane, all will be good.

Night.

2 thoughts on “Hi Ho, Hi Ho It’s Off to Disney we go….

  1. @AMillionLittleThings – Thanks so much.   I’m really looking forward to it.

  2. My husband says the same thing about my scrapbooks. I am always looking for a reason to take photos. I hope you have a nice trip to Disney.

Leave a Reply

