Thoughts to ponder….

I was just thinking today ….

With the economy the way it is these days and the day-to-day struggles of just getting by, it is very easy to get caught up in the “why me’s?”  and quickly throw a huge pity party.

The rising costs of fuel and food are taking its toll on everyone.  My husband and I feel it.  We feel the struggle more than we ever have.

I work in the nonprofit world with families of very low income.  Any issue I’m feeling affects them tenfold.  I’m learning very quickly not to focus on the pay that I don’t get, and focus on what my job does give me.

What does it give me?  It gives me the chance to use my skills and go home at the end of the day feeling like I’ve done something important.  It definitely gives me a great appreciation for what I do have.  And if the stories of the families we work with don’t do it, then one quick peruse through the newspaper or a quick listen to the morning news surely will.

Not to sound cliché, but I think I may be finally learning to “not sweat the small stuff” and really focus on what I HAVE and what’s important.

What do I have?

  1. I have a home … it’s not just a roof over my head, it is a home.
  2. I have a husband who provides for his family and comes home every night.
  3. I have a best friend.
  4. I have a little boy who still tells me he loves me every morning.  In fact, this morning he loved me “a lot, a lot, a lot.”
  5. I have a teenage daughter who trusts me enough to come to me when she has a problem, even when her teenage hormones are telling her I’m a freak of nature.
  6. I have an education.
  7. I’m alive.
  8. I have a God and the freedom to worship him.
  9. I have a car to put that expensive gas in and a job to drive it to.
  10. I have a kitchen and the ability to cook the food we constantly gripe about the cost of.
  11. I have luxuries that 100% of the families I work with do not have.
  12. I’m healthy.
  13. I’ve made mistakes and have been able to learn from them.
  14. I’m finally gaining the maturity to appreciate numbers 1 though 13.

I could sit here and continue this list all night long.  It’s amazing how many things to be thankful for you can come up with if you only take the time to try.  The list could go on and on.  What do I have to gripe about?

Enough mushiness for now. Night!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts to ponder….

  1. Hello.  Just getting to know each other!  I just thought I would comment.
    I think your list is great.  It really puts things into perspective.  Thank you for the reminder of looking at our blessings and being thankful for them. 

  2. Great post. When we get down I just remind both of us what we have and PTL for it.

Leave a Reply

