It’s been a week … and I had an “almost stalker”

It’s been a week since my last entry and I don’t think I have anything to say that sounds any more interesting than I did a week ago …. I kept thinking if I waited long enough that something fun, witty and maybe even intellectual would come to me.  Well, it didn’t. 

Same ole, same ole around here, except for I had an almost stalker!

Let’s see, where do I start?  I went to the grocery store last week — a chore I really do not enjoy.  To make going to the store even worse, I chose to do it immediately after work and I took my kids.  My local grocery store is a complete madhouse during the afterwork-mad-dash-to-get-home time.  But, since there hadn’t been food in my house for days, I really needed to feed my family and the thought of more fast food or another pizza was far worse than a trip to the grocery store.

I managed to find a few groceries and only have minor disagreements with my children.  I struggled at the checkout, and fought my way out of the store entry that isn’t big enough to to handle the onslaught of rush hour comings and goings of hundreds of shoppers.

I was happily thinking “I’m home free” and making plans for the quick dinner fixings we had just purchased as I put the last overstuffed grocery bag in my trunk. Both kids were buckled in and I was starting the car when I noticed a woman, her grocery cart and two kids coming quickly toward my car.  I was watching and wondering if she was going to hit my car with her cart as she tried to squeeze her inflated backside, both kids and the groceries in the six inches between my car and the curb I was parked next to.

I continued to watch and yes she was going to hit it … about that time I heard the cart as it scraped the side of my car.  Well, maybe she didn’t see me in the car so I honked the horn so she’d realize I was there (as if the hum of my running motor wasn’t a clue).  I was hoping she wouldn’t do it again as if no one were watching. Hey, my car isn’t the best, but it’s mine and I don’t want it any more beat up than necessary.

She immediately turned around and started yelling at me.  “Ma’am I didn’t hit your car on purpose.” She continued to babble something else.  I just looked at her, put my hands up and backed out to leave. I didn’t mouth off — I’ve been known to mouth off (any friend of mine reading this can attest to this) but this time, honest, I did not.  Even if I had said something, she couldn’t have heard me.  The windows of my car were up.

I backed out and fought the traffic home.  I got out of the car and with the assistance of my children got all the groceries unloaded in one trip.  I was balancing the bags and had managed to shut the trunk when I turned around. There she stood.  She had followed me home!!

I don’t know if I was more in shock that she actually did that — with kids in tow — or that she had managed to drive up, get out of her car and get within a few feet of me without me noticing.  She then proceeded to yell at me some more about how she didn’t mean to hit my car and that she would pay the damage, and that she didn’t want her kids to see this kind of behavior.  Go figure!

All the while my children are standing there watching and wondering what the heck was going on.  We also now had attracted an audience in my neighbor’s front yard.  At first, I did admit to her that I was a little bothered by the fact that she followed me home.  I even apologized for honking my horn.  But, she just kept on.  At that point, I asked her to leave.  She continued, obviously having had a really bad day. I asked her to leave again or I would call the police.  She continued as she and her backside moved out of my driveway and onto the street.  “I’m not on your property now,” she said.  Then, she continued.  I’m not sure I heard much of what she said.  I was shocked and for some reason starting to find the whole situation a little humorous.  Again, I asked her to leave.  She continued.

I pulled my phone out of my purse and started to dial.  She decided to leave.  As she got in her car, I heard her telling her children (quite loudly), “I certainly hope you don’t turn out to be THAT kind of person.” I’m not sure what kind of person THAT is, but I’m certain I did not do anything I would be ashamed for her children to see.  I don’t know what I did to provoke her to follow me home. I’ll usually admit when I’m on “the wrong end of the stick” as my Grandma used to say, but I was completely innocent this time.

Oh well, I apologize for the length of this post.  I’m not sure what the moral of the story is.  Could it be don’t park near the curb in the grocery store parking lot, don’t buy groceries during rush hour or don’t honk your horn at passers by with lethal grocery carts?!?

Anyway, night!!

One thought on “It’s been a week … and I had an “almost stalker”

  1. crazy!! i’m glad she took the hint, but it’s sad you had to get your phone out to scare her off.my mom always warns me of things like this because i have a tendency to mouth off as well. you at least had your kids with you, i’m usually by myself! i would have been scared to death probably.

Leave a Reply

