A rare moment….

I was trying yesterday to no avail to get my daughter to pick up her shoes and dirty socks from my living room floor when my son came running through, picked up the socks and said “do I put ’em in the laundry room?”

I was astonished – not only at the mere fact that he picked up those stinky socks but he did it happily, to his own accord.  Then, on his way back through the room, he grabbed the equally stinky volleyball shoes, headed toward the stairs and proclaimed, “Sissy is my best friend.”

WOW!!   I love it.  I’m not sure if she was bribing him or if he was trying to butter her up for something.  Either way, I just love it!!

A few minutes later they went out to the pool, hand in hand.  After a while I took a quick peak out into the backyard to see what they were doing.  They were smiling and laughing.  My daughter was holding her little brother, making faces at him and doing a very good job at entertaining them.

I was one of those rare moments you don’t ever want to forget.  They were both lost and involved in just being together.  One of those rare moments free of sibling rivalry.  A stranger looking in would have seen the sweetness that only their mother can truly appreciate.

Now, as I sit here writing this, things are back to normal.  I can hear stomping, doors slamming, my drama queen yelling “mooooommmmmn” and my sweet 5-year-old proudly proclaiming to his sister “you have a very big butt!!”

Still, just gotta love it.

Night.

4 thoughts on “A rare moment….

  1. ROFL – Likes sore ones too I guess 🙂

  2. @Tigster – It was worse the day my mother called me and told me he had just sang his verion of “I like big butts” to her … promptly followed by a slap on the backside, lol

  3. ROFL – He’s gonna learn the hard way about telling a woman that! 🙂

  4. Hah! That sounds an awful lot like my brothers and me when we were tiny. However – as soon as the first one of us went off to college, we all became best friends. Now, I consider my brothers to be my very favorite people in the world! Just wait on it – they’ll become fast buddies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

