Guilty pleasures … and Grease is still the word!

Good morning!

Guilty pleasures … we all have them.  I have a few, well quite a few … too many to list here.  I guess probably my biggest is cheesy movies.  I LOVE THEM!

I watch all of what I call the “junior chick flicks” with my daughter.  She’s 14 and I’ve been doing it for years. Yes, I love “The Princess Diaries” and yes, I know all the words to “High School Musical,” both 1 and 2. We are eagerly awaiting the premiere of the third install in the HSM saga. 

Both my children and I sat in anticipation Friday evening as we watched the timer so cleverly placed by Disney Channel execs in the upper right hand corner of our television screen countdown the minutes and seconds to the premiere of “Camp Rock.”

Of course I do have the real guilty pleasures.  Those cheesy movies that are much more refined, much more mature and age appropriate.  The list is long,  but my favorite — “Grease”.  I’m sure all those “Grease” aficionados know what I’m talking about.  The music, the characters…doesn’t it just take you back?

I was in sixth grade when “Grease” was released in theaters. I was so excited, I couldn’t wait to go see it. At the the time, the costumes, the characters and the music were “so cool.” Even more exciting was the day I got my “Grease” album.  I could already sing every word and the album just allowed me to sing in front of the mirror with accompaniment and my very own background singers! (Something I would never, ever do now! )

 

Now 40 (ugh, gasping for air),  I can still sing all the words to each song. “Grease” is definitely still the word!  My best girlfriends and I recently took our daughters to see a local theater company’s production of “Grease.”  I think they enjoyed it as much as we still obviously do.  I think we may have embarrassed them a little as we sang .. at times loudly … to each song.

 

That afternoon in the theater brought back memories of sitting in my sixth-grade classroom on the days our teacher would allow us to bring music to school. I got my brief 15 minutes of fame as I was the first in my class the have  the album (my daughter once told me she knew what a record album was …. “A really big CD that they listened to in the old days”) and we spent many a Friday afternoon listening to it.

 

My friends and and I had a “reunion concert” of our Grease favorites yesterday evening.  We were all gathered for the 10th birthday of one of the gals’ daughter.  When the younger girls tired of the karaoke machine, we did it!  We broke out the karaoke version of Grease.  Our daughters were once again driven to hide in shame in the corner as we sang and danced.

Soon they too will learn to appreciate the guilty pleasures of “Grease.”

Well have a good day.  I have homemade bread in the oven and it is smelling quite yummy.

 

2 thoughts on “Guilty pleasures … and Grease is still the word!

  1. My teenage boy thoughts of Olivia Newton-John are probably some of the guilty pleasures/thoughts sending me to hell :)After my audio blog post for beelievin earlier, I’m also starting to find out how many consider the desert menu to be at the top of the guilty pleasures list 🙂

  2. that sounds really fun. i never got into grease though but i always loved singing to my favorites out loud and proud to the company of shocked stuffed animals in my room as a kid

Leave a Reply

