Saying goodbye

Well, it’s 11:58 and if I don’t write quick, I’m gonna miss another day of blogging.

It was a really busy weekend and I feel like this is the first moment I’ve had to sit down.

In just over 24 hours, we’ll be saying goodbye to our second exchange student.  It is so bittersweet.  She’s been with us for almost a full year and it’s very difficult to say goodbye.  I feel like I’m sending my own child away for good. I still feel the emotions building up when I think of last year’s student and our tearful goodbye.  Now, I must do it again.  But, like I said, it’s alittle bittersweet.  Our “exchange daughter” has been quite a challenge the last month or so.  I hate to see her go, but I’m a little relieved to be sending her back to her own parents.

I just hate that she’s leaving after the few bad weeks we’ve had.  Hopefully, between now and her 5 a.m. flight on Wednesday, we’ll have a chance to talk.  I really want her to know how much she means to us and what a great experience, for the most part, it’s been.

And if it’s not bad enough, we have another student arriving in mid-August.   I’ll have children all over the world before it’s all said and done.

I’ll have to write more about our experiences later.  For now, I’m tired!  I have to be up for work in a few short hours. 

 Night

DSC_0002

Leave a Reply

