My sweet child … and big backsides!

Every day, I look forward the first moment in the morning when my sweet little blonde-haired, blue-eyed son comes into to greet me.  He’s usually the first one to tell me good morning.  There’s nothing like a 5-year-old’s wit and wisdom to make your day right!   He always sends me off to work with a sweet thought or just a simple “I love you mommy… can we get a milkshake after school?”

This morning might be the exception.  I was still enjoy the laziness of an early Saturday morning.  Hubby had already headed to the ball field.  My son comes into the room.  I’m expecting my early morning hug.  Nope.  That’s not what I got.

He quickly, and confidently, went into his own rendition of “I Like Big Butts” and promptly smacked me on the backside.  I’ve unfortunately heard him sing it before, but not to me!   I’m not sure if he just wanted to share his singing prowess with me or if was implying I have a big butt!  Whichever it is, it’s probably fortunate that I resisted the evils of yesterday’s donut.

I wanted to negate the effects of my morning serenade, so I revisited a post of a couple of years back .. when my son still thought I was pretty.  I thought I would repost it here:

How do kids do it?  They know when you are having a really bad day.

 

This morning I woke up in one of those moods.  One of those blah “I’m feeling sorry for myself, nothing is gonna make me happy, and if you look at me I will cry” moods.  The mood was for no apparent reason.  But I was there and it was so bad I was getting on my own nerves.  I hate it when I get that way.  My hubby generally blames it on being a woman. Today, I think I would have had to agree with him.  It’s so stupid.  Fortunately, it didn’t last long – thanks to my darling little son.

 

Kids just know sometimes the right thing to say or do, the male children especially.  They learn at early age to say “what she wants to hear.” How do they learn that? At 2, he already knows the right things to say to get what he wants. When they grow up, it’s easy to see through that. But when they are so little, cute and adorable, it works every time.

 

This morning, I was sitting in my chair wallowing in my self-pity and waiting on my hubby to come down for his coffee.  I hear my son’s normal thump, thump as he bounced down the stairs on his bottom.  As he was climbing into my lap, he put his little arms around my neck and said “my mama a pretty girl.”  Awwwwwwwww .. that was it.  My heart melted. Any signs of bad mood and feeling sorry for myself quickly faded to nothing.  I was sitting there in a worn out t-shirt – bed head and all – and my son thinks I’m pretty.  A pretty GIRL at that, LOL.  Well that was it — my day was better.

 

Of course, he followed with a request for chocolate milk and a quick game of baseball.  It doesn’t matter though.  He instantly made my day great.  I’ll be singing to myself all day …  “I’m a pretty girl, I’m a pretty girl.”  If you read this, I hope you all have a great day too!

There, that’s better!

Have a great day all.

Leave a Reply

