Where did the weekend go?  It’s already Sunday night and it feels like I just had my “I’m glad it’s Friday” glass of wine.  We didn’t do much of anything of interest over the weekend, so I’m not sure where the time went.  It just flew by.


 


I spent the early part of today with my daughter and the rituals of getting ready for the first day of school (which is tomorrow for her).  I think I’m probably more into it than her, but there’s just something exciting about that first day.  I enjoyed it when I was her age and have just as much fun now that I have little one’s of my own.  I’m sure by the time she went to bed this evening, she was just ready for me to leave her alone.


 


Tonight we picked out the first-day outfit, painted her fingers and toes and did “girlie stuff.”  Oh, and we can’t forget the school supplies.  We’ve pulled all her new things out and gotten them ready for her sixth-grade locker!  The geek in me always comes out when it’s time for new school supplies.  There’s just something about new pens, pencils and paper. I love it, always have.  Unfortunately, until my younger one is in school, long gone are the days of new boxes of Crayons, markers and glue.  Those are even better! (Now that I read this back, sounds like I really need a life!   J )


 


Is it just me, or does it seem like summer ends earlier and earlier every year?  I don’t ever remember going back to school in mid-August.  It almost seems unfair to the kids.   I’m not sure I’m ready for summer to be over yet.


 


Have a great Monday morning.


 


 


 


 

One thought on “

  1. I feel exactly the same way.  I was talking to someone at church about that!  Summer just went by and we had so much planned and didn’t get to do hardly any of it.  By the way, I’m also the same way about the start of school and school supplies.  I love shopping for school supplies, then when my were little I would pull them all out on the living room floor, separate them according to child and put their names on everything.  I loved it!
    Karen

Leave a Reply

